Toll-Free: (877) 472-3368

Employer's Signature (or representative)	Employer's Name (please print)		Place of Viewing Video	Employee's Signature	Employee Name (please print) Date Date
Reno: (775) 688-3730 Elko: (775) 778-3312	Las Vegas: (702) 486-9140	Business & Industry.	employee representative or the Division of Industrial Relations	understand this document shou contact his or her supervisor,	Any employee who does not

and

my rights

l have (check l understand

one)

read this and

s document or \_\_\_ d responsibilities document

for

\_ viewed the video, for safety in the wo

workplace

entitled "Nevada Workplace Safety: Your Rights and Responsibilities

bluoi

WORKPLACE SAFETY IS EVERYONE'S

RESPONSIBILITY.



### Stop and Learn Your **Rights and Responsibilities**

The Division of Industrial Relations of the Nevada Department of Business & Industry helps employers provide a safe and healthful workplace. This document explains the rights and responsibilities of both employers and employees in creating a safe working environment.



# EMPLOYEE RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 📼

The Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Act was created to allow you to do your job in a safe and healthy workplace. But it is up to you to make sure that job safety works. Here are some tips to help you stay safe on the job.



#### Know and follow all safety rules set by:

- Your employer
- The Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Act
- State of Nevada Occupational and Health Administration (NVOSHA)

You can get copies of all Nevada safety and health standards from the Safety Consultation and Training Section of the Division of Industrial Relations or on the web at www.4safenv.state.nv.us. Also, your employer may be required to have a written workplace safety program.

If your employer requires personal protective equipment, such as hard hats, safety shoes, safety glasses, respirators, or hearing protection, you are responsible to wear and/or use the equipment.

If you do not know how to safely use tools, equipment or machinery, be sure to ask your supervisor.

If you see something that's unsafe, report it to your supervisor. That's part of your job. Give your employer a chance to fix the problem. If you think the unsafe condition still exists, it is your right to file a complaint with NVOSHA. The Division will not give your name to your employer.

There are laws that **protect you** if you are punished for filing a safety and health complaint. If you feel you have been treated unfairly for making a safety and health complaint, you have 30 days from the date of the punishment to file a discrimination complaint with NVOSHA.

#### Whistle Blower Hotline - (702) 486-9097

Most on-the-job injuries are covered by Workers' Compensation Insurance. From cuts and bruises to serious accidents, coverage begins the first minute you're on the job.

It is your responsibility to report any on-the-job injury or occupational disease immediately to your supervisor or foreman using the "Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease" C-1 Form. You have 7 days from the date of injury or knowledge of the occupational disease to turn in the completed C-1 Form to your employer. If you seek medical treatment for a work-related injury you must complete a "Claim for Compensation" C-4 Form at the emergency room or medical provider's office to initiate a claim for workers compensation.

But remember, filing a false claim will result not only in a loss of benefits, but could mean costly fines and/or jail time.

If there is a dangerous situation at work and an employee, with no reasonable alternative, refuses in good faith to expose themselves to a dangerous condition, they would be protected from subsequent retaliation. The condition must be of such a nature that a reasonable person would conclude that there is a real danger of death or serious harm and that there is not enough time to contact NVOSHA and for NVOSHA to inspect. Where possible, the employee must have also sought from the employer, and been unable to obtain, a correction of the condition.

During a NVOSHA inspection, you have the right to talk privately with the inspector and take part in meetings with the inspector before and after the inspection. You are encouraged to point out hazards, describe injuries and illnesses from these hazards, discuss past worker complaints and inform the inspector of working conditions that are not normal during the inspection. If after the inspection citations are proposed to the employer, the employer is required to post the citations where employees can see them.

### EMPLOYER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 📑

The Safety Consultation and Training Section (SCATS) was created to assist employers in complying with Nevada laws which govern occupational safety and health. They are available to provide a workplace hazard assessment. This service can assist employers in minimizing on-the-job hazards, and is provided at **no charge**. The Division also offers no cost safety training and informational programs for Nevada employers.

A Nevada employer with 11 or more employees must establish a written workplace safety program. A safety committee is required if you have more than 25 employees or if an employer's employees are engaged in the manufacturing of explosives.

You must maintain a workplace that is free from unsafe conditions.

As an employer **you are responsible for complying with all Nevada safety and health standards and regulations** found in the:

- + Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Act
- + Occupational Safety and Health Standards and Regulations

Copies of all occupational safety and health standards and regulations are available from the Division of Industrial Relations (SCATS and NVOSHA) or on the web at www.4safenv.state.nv.us.



You are also responsible for ensuring that your employees comply with these same rules, standards and regulations. You must select someone to administer and enforce occupational safety and health programs in your workplace.

Before assigning an employee to a job, you must provide proper training in a language and format that is understandable to each employee:

- Safe use of equipment and machinery
- Personal protective gear
- + Hazard recognition
- Emergency procedures
- + Hazardous chemicals and substances found at the jobsite or in the workplace

You must also inform all employees of the safety rules, regulations and standards which apply to their respective duties.

It is your responsibility to maintain accurate accident, injury and safety records and reports. These files must be made available, upon request, to the affected employee and representatives of NVOSHA.

The Nevada Safety and Health Poster, provided by the Division of Industrial Relations, **must be posted** in a prominent place on the job site.

Any accident or motor vehicle crash occurring in the course of employment which results in the inpatient hospitalization of one or more employees, the amputation of a part of an employee's body or an employee's loss of an eye must be reported by the employer orally to the nearest office of NV OSHA within 24 hours hours after the time that the accident or crash is reported to any agent or employee of the employer. Any accident or motor vehicle crash occurring in the course of employment which is fatal to one or more employees must be reported by the employer orally to the nearest office of NV OSHA within 8 hours after the time that the accident or crash is reported to any agent or employee of the employer.

Nevada employers are required to secure and maintain workers' compensation insurance unless excluded by Nevada Revised Statute (NRS). There are few exceptions to this requirement. In the event of an injury or at the onset of an occupational disease, the employer must provide the C-1 Form, "Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease - Incident Report" to the injured worker. The employer is also responsible for filing an "Employer's Report of Injury" (C-3 Form) within six working days with your insurer after the receipt of a "Claim for Compensation" (C-4 Form) from a physician or chiropractor.

Additional employer responsibilities:

- + Perform tests such as air sampling and noise monitoring.
- + Prevent employee exposure to harmful substances to include chemicals, lead, asbestos, and sharps.
- Provide hearing exams, medical testing, fall protection, machine guarding, cave-in and confined space safety equipment and protection, respirators, personal protective equipment, etc., as required by NVOSHA and OSHA standards.

The law requires that employers shall provide newly-hired employees with a copy of this document or with a video setting forth the rights and responsibilities of employers and employees to promote safety in the workplace.

**Employers shall keep a signed copy** of the attached receipt in the employee's personnel file to show he or she has been made aware of these rights and responsibilities.

## ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 📑

If you require further information or would like to obtain copies of safety and health standards, videos of this pamphlet in English and Spanish or more copies of the pamphlet, contact the following:

State of Nevada Department of Business & Industry, Division of Industrial Relations, Safety Consultation and Training Section

Southern Nevada	<u>Northern/Central Nevada</u>
3360 W. Sahara Avenue	4600 Kietzke Lane
Suite 100	Suite E-144
Las Vegas, NV 89102	Reno, NV 89502
(702) 486-9140	(775) 688-3730
Fax: (702) 486-8711	Fax: (775) 688-1478

#### Northeastern Nevada

350 West Silver Street Suite 210 Elko, NV 89801 (775) 778-3312 Fax: (775) 778-3412 Or Call, Toll-Free 1 (877) 4SAFENV (472-3368) www.4safeny.state.ny.us

State of Nevada Department of Business & Industry, Division of Industrial Relations NVOSHA

Southern Nevada	Northern Nevada		
3360 W. Sahara Avenue	4600 Kietzke Lane		
Suite 200	Suite F-153		
Las Vegas, NV 89102	Reno, NV 89502		
(702) 486-9020	(775) 688-3700		
Fax: (702) 486-8714	Fax: (775) 688-1378		

A video of this information is available in English and Spanish through the Division of Industrial Relations, Safety Consultation and Training Section.

This document may be copied. For additional copies, contact the Division of Industrial Relations or visit www.4safenv.state.nv.us.